Fulbright 2015-16

The beginning of May marked the end of my Fulbright grant to Brazil.  This wonderful experience that was sponsored by the US Fulbright Commission and CAPES, a foundation in the Brazilian Ministry of Education.

For this grant,  I traveled to Brazil to work as a faculty member at the Federal University of Sao Paulo where I gave lectures and mini-courses on topics such as early nutrition and adult health, fundamentals of energy metabolism, techniques to measure body composition, and writing for scientific publications. In addition, during part of my time in Brazil, I traveled to other universities and gave guest lectures, advised on research programs, met with faculty and students, and gave seminars on my research.  A list of universities visited includes,

University of Sao Paulo, School of Public Heath

University of Sao Paulo, School of Medicine at Riberao Preto

Federal University of Health Sciences of Porto Alegre

Federal University of Alagoas

While being away from my family and home institution was a challenge, my family did get to visit and enjoy some beautiful parts of Brazil (Mato Grosso do Sul and the Pantanal) and my university gained much exposure through my seminars.  At the same time, being present in a university for an extended period of time was beneficial to me as I learned more about the educational process in Brazil and for my Brazilian colleagues who saw new approaches to integrating research and education.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions about applying for or participating as a Fulbright scholar.  I close with some images from Brazil.  Adeus!

 

Leave a Reply

